9:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon to Fri, Sat 9AM - 2PM
DMCC business setup means forming a company in a Dubai free zone based in Jumeirah Lake Towers. DMCC states that registration takes around 10 working days once your documents are complete. Below are DMCC’s published packages and fees, each labelled with its dmcc.ae source and check date, followed by visas, banking, tax and licence renewal.
By First Idea Consultant. Reviewed by Amir Aslam, Founder. Updated September 2026.
DMCC stands for Dubai Multi Commodities Centre. DMCC is a free zone, not mainland, set up in 2002 and based in Jumeirah Lake Towers. The DMCC full form is simply that name, and in Dubai the DMCC meaning people look for is the free zone authority that licenses companies in JLT.
DMCC is regulated by the DMCC Authority, separate from Dubai’s Department of Economy and Tourism (DET), which licenses mainland companies (see our Dubai mainland license guide). DMCC’s setup routes are Individual, Subsidiary and Branch, ownership can be 100% foreign, and only the activities on the licence may be carried out. Beyond service, trading and industrial licences, DMCC runs a Crypto Centre, a Gaming Centre and an AI Centre.
| Item | DMCC |
|---|---|
| Type | Free zone, not mainland |
| Regulator | DMCC Authority |
| Set up | 2002 |
| Location | Jumeirah Lake Towers, Dubai |
| Setup routes (DMCC) | Individual, Subsidiary, Branch |
| Licence types | Service, trading, commercial, industrial; DMCC Crypto, Gaming and AI Centres |
| Ownership | 100% foreign ownership |
| DMCC registration | Around 10 working days once documents are complete (dmcc.ae, checked 15 September 2026) |
| Licence renewal | DMCC member portal; trading and service licences for 1, 2, 3 or 5 years, industrial for 1 year (DMCC renewal guidelines, checked 15 September 2026) |
WhatsApp Amir for DMCC licence options and a written cost breakdown
| DMCC package | Term and workspace (DMCC) | Visas (DMCC) | DMCC price |
|---|---|---|---|
| DMCC Basic Biz | Special flexi desk options; individual shareholders only | Eligible for one | AED 35,484 |
| DMCC Jump Start | 1 year, standard flexi desk | One included, eligible for three | AED 43,780 |
| DMCC Jump Start | 1 year, co-working space | One included, eligible for three | AED 49,941 |
| DMCC Jump Start | 2 years, standard flexi desk or co-working space | One included, eligible for three | AED 81,881 |
| DMCC Jump Start | 3 years, standard flexi desk or co-working space | One included, eligible for three | AED 120,000 |
| DMCC Prime Plus | 1 year, no workspace listed | None listed | AED 38,025 |
| DMCC Prime Plus | 3 years, no workspace listed | None listed | AED 78,100 |
| DMCC JLT Resident | Special flexi desk options, for JLT residents | Not specified | AED 29,205 |
| DMCC Crypto, Gaming or AI Centre | Co-working access in the centre | Not specified | AED 31,000 each (DMCC: inclusive of KDID and VAT) |
| DMCC Nook | Nook co-working desk | Not specified | AED 10,345 |
| DMCC CLG, new | No workspace listed | Not specified | AED 34,185 |
| DMCC CLG, transfer | No workspace listed | Not specified | AED 30,185 |
A DMCC package covers what DMCC lists. Anything DMCC does not list, for example the medical test, Emirates ID and bank account opening assistance, is quoted separately.
First Idea does not publish a DMCC package price, because the licence, workspace and visa mix change the total. Send your business activity and visa count on WhatsApp and you get an itemised written quote.
| Item (DMCC) | DMCC charge |
|---|---|
| Application, once | AED 1,035 |
| Registration, once | AED 9,020 |
| Articles of Association, once | AED 2,020 |
| Licence (trading and service), per year | AED 20,285 |
| Establishment card, per year | AED 1,825 |
| Employment residence permit, new, applicant outside the UAE, 1 year | AED 2,237 |
| Employment residence permit, new, applicant outside the UAE, 2 years | AED 2,972.50 |
| Employment residence permit, new, applicant inside the UAE (without amendment), 1 year | AED 2,672 |
| Employment residence permit, new, applicant inside the UAE (without amendment), 2 years | AED 3,407.50 |
| Flexi desk (DMCC Business Centre) | AED 16,000 to 19,000 |
DMCC adds AED 20 Knowledge and Innovation Dirham fees to its charges and states that fees may change without prior notice.
A DMCC company with one residence visa and business bank account opening assistance is quoted in three parts:
| Part | Who charges it | What this page shows |
|---|---|---|
| DMCC licence and workspace | DMCC | DMCC’s licence, registration and flexi desk rows above |
| One residence visa | DMCC and the government | DMCC’s AED 2,972.50 two-year employment residence permit (applicant outside the UAE) and AED 1,825 a year establishment card, DMCC schedule of charges, checked 15 September 2026; medical test and Emirates ID quoted |
| Business bank account opening assistance | First Idea Consultant LLC prepares the file; the bank decides | No figure |
Send your business activity and visa count on WhatsApp and you get an itemised written quote.
If your activity does not need a DMCC licence, our Premium package covers a company, one residence visa and business bank account opening assistance at a fixed price: AED 28,136 with Meydan or AED 28,436 with IFZA.
| Premium | Meydan | IFZA |
|---|---|---|
| Total with digital account | AED 28,136 | AED 28,436 |
| Total with local bank account | AED 33,136 | AED 33,436 |
Bank account opening is subject to each bank’s KYC, compliance review and final approval. We prepare the file, pre-check it against the bank’s requirements, and if one bank declines we apply to the next.
See the Meydan free zone and IFZA free zone pages, our Dubai company setup packages, and the rows behind each total on our cost of setting up a business in Dubai page.
| Licence type (DMCC licence guide) | Typical activities | Who it suits | Workspace usually needed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Service | Advisory, consultancy, IT and professional services | Consulting firms, agencies, solo service businesses | Flexi desk or office |
| Trading | Importing, exporting, distributing or selling goods | Traders and distributors | Flexi desk or office |
| Commercial | Several product categories under one licence | Broader trading businesses | Flexi desk or office |
| Industrial | Manufacturing, including gold and precious metals | Manufacturers and processors | A physical industrial unit |
| DMCC Crypto, Gaming and AI Centres | Sector ecosystems with co-working (DMCC packages page) | Crypto, gaming and AI companies | Co-working in the centre |
A licence can hold more than one activity within DMCC’s rules, and DMCC’s schedule of charges says licence fees may vary if additional activities are chosen. Regulated activities need a third-party NOC: DMCC issues an introductory letter to the regulator at pre-approval, and the NOC is uploaded at registration (DMCC application guide). Activity codes are in the DMCC activity list (a DMCC spreadsheet dated 15 October 2025).
DMCC states that registration takes around 10 working days, depending on how complete the documents are (dmcc.ae, checked 15 September 2026). DMCC’s application guide gives pre-approval 5 to 7 working days, registration 2 to 3 and licensing 2 to 3. Visas and banking follow the licence.
| Step | Who does it | DMCC’s stated time | Documents or output |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Choose activity, licence type and package | You, with First Idea | Not stated | Activities, visa count, workspace |
| 2. Pre-approval on the DMCC portal: shareholders and officers, three proposed names, intended bank, financial year, activities | First Idea prepares; DMCC reviews | 5 to 7 working days | Passport and visa page for each shareholder, director, manager and secretary (UAE residence visa and Emirates ID if applicable); proof of address no older than 6 months; signature undertaking; HR signatory letter; power of attorney or consultant letter if used. Output: name reservation and compliance approval. DMCC: valid for 60 days. |
| 3. Registration: property type, NOC if needed, payment, video identity check against original passports, e-signing | DMCC and the signatories | 2 to 3 working days | Specimen signatures, shareholders’ resolution, Articles of Association. Output: provisional approval letter and introduction bank letter, both valid for 90 days (DMCC). |
| 4. Licensing | DMCC | 2 to 3 working days | A flexi desk with no third-party approval and share capital under AED 500,000 goes straight to issue; other property needs a lease of at least one year in the reserved name. Output: e-licence, share certificates, certificate of registration. |
| 5. Establishment card and residence visas | DMCC and the government | Not stated as one figure | See the visa section |
| 6. Business bank account | The bank decides | No timeline | See the banking section |
| 7. Post-licensing follow-up | You, with First Idea | Within 6 months of licence issue (DMCC) | Documents DMCC requests through its Enhanced Follow Up service request |
You can apply to DMCC directly, and DMCC’s set-up page says so. If you want the file handled, First Idea Consultant LLC chooses the activity and package with you, prepares the portal application and documents, coordinates the signatories, processes the establishment card and visas, and prepares the bank file.
DMCC’s rule is that the number of visas depends on your office space and licence type.
| Workspace (as DMCC lists it) | Visa eligibility (DMCC) |
|---|---|
| Special flexi desk (DMCC Basic Biz package) | Eligible for one visa |
| Standard flexi desk or co-working space (DMCC Jump Start package) | One visa included, eligible for three |
| Serviced office or leased office unit | Set by DMCC on office size and licence type; confirmed in your quote |
DMCC’s application guide says visa applications can start online once the licence is issued on a flexi desk or serviced office, or once the conformity or operational fitness certificate is filed. The medical test and Emirates ID biometrics are done in the UAE.
DMCC schedule of charges, checked 15 September 2026: a new employment residence permit is AED 2,237 for 1 year or AED 2,972.50 for 2 years with the applicant outside the UAE, or AED 2,672 and AED 3,407.50 inside the UAE, plus AED 1,825 a year for the establishment card. The medical test and Emirates ID are quoted.
Send your business activity and visa count on WhatsApp and you get an itemised written quote.
A DMCC residence visa is renewed through DMCC and the government, and the renewal is quoted with your visa count.
Once your own visa is active, family visas are quoted separately.
DMCC’s application guide asks for a passport and visa page for each shareholder, director, manager and secretary, with the UAE residence visa and Emirates ID “required if applicable” (checked 15 September 2026). It does not ask the manager to hold UAE residence before the licence is issued, and Article 57.7 of the DMCCA Company Regulations, which lists who cannot be a manager, does not mention residence. Some firms say otherwise.
Amir Aslam confirms DMCC’s current position on the manager with DMCC before every file.
DMCC’s application asks which bank you intend to use, and DMCC issues an introduction bank letter at registration, valid for 90 days. Where share capital is more than AED 500,000, DMCC asks for a bank deposit letter before licensing (DMCC application guide, checked 15 September 2026).
Banks usually ask a new DMCC company for the licence, Articles of Association, share certificates, tenancy contract, shareholder passports and visas, beneficial owner details, a business plan and source of funds. Commodities, precious metals and crypto activities face enhanced due diligence.
Bank account opening is subject to each bank’s KYC, compliance review and final approval. We prepare the file, pre-check it against the bank’s requirements, and if one bank declines we apply to the next.
The fixed-price route to a company, one residence visa and business bank account opening assistance is Premium, set out above. Compare banks in our guide to a business bank account in UAE. If you already hold a DMCC licence, bank account opening assistance is quoted on WhatsApp.
0% personal income tax. Corporate tax is 9% only on profit above AED 375,000, and registration is included in every package from Standard upward.
Standard and Premium are First Idea’s Meydan and IFZA packages; for a DMCC company, corporate tax registration is itemised in your quote.
A DMCC company is treated as a Qualifying Free Zone Person only if it meets every condition: adequate substance in the free zone, qualifying income, transfer pricing compliance and audited financial statements. Otherwise the standard UAE corporate tax treatment applies.
A DMCC licence is renewed on the DMCC member portal on or before expiry, and DMCC’s renewal guidelines say a DMCC entity must not operate without a valid licence.
| DMCC row (trading and service licence) | DMCC charge | DMCC’s note |
|---|---|---|
| Licence renewal, 1 year | AED 20,265 | Not for Business Centre, General Trading, Industrial or Refineries |
| Licence renewal, 2 years | AED 40,530 | 5% discount applies |
| Licence renewal, 3 years | AED 60,795 | 10% discount applies |
| Licence renewal, 5 years | AED 101,325 | 20% discount applies |
| Late renewal, 31 to 60 days | AED 2,500 | |
| Late renewal, 61 to 90 days | AED 5,000 |
No professional service fee on licence renewals; government and authority fees still apply.
Send your business activity and visa count on WhatsApp and you get an itemised written quote.
DMCC’s steps (licence renewal guidelines, checked 15 September 2026):
Documents DMCC lists: workmen’s compensation insurance for active employees, third-party liability insurance for physical units, a NOC for regulated activities, the operational fitness certificate that applies (IAOFC, AOFC or RAOFC), a certificate of good standing for a parent company, and a tenancy contract or title deed where Ejari does not apply. DMCC’s guidelines say late renewal brings a sanction on the company account and penalties, and can lead to the licence being terminated.
WhatsApp Amir for DMCC renewal steps and a written quote
Renewing a different Dubai licence? See our guide to trade license renewal Dubai.
| Item | DMCC | Dubai mainland (DET) | Meydan | IFZA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regulator | DMCC Authority | Department of Economy and Tourism | Meydan Free Zone | IFZA |
| Ownership | 100% foreign ownership (DMCC) | Set by DET for the activity; quoted | See the zone page | See the zone page |
| Who you can invoice | Free zone and international clients; mainland Dubai clients through a DET permit or licence | Clients anywhere in the UAE | Same free zone rule as DMCC | Same free zone rule as DMCC |
| Workspace | Flexi desk, serviced office or leased unit (DMCC) | Office lease, per DET rules | See the zone page | See the zone page |
| Annual audit | DMCCA-approved auditor (Article 73.6) | Per DET and corporate tax rules; quoted | See the zone page | See the zone page |
| Authority licence fee | AED 20,285 a year (DMCC schedule of charges, checked 15 September 2026) | DET fees, quoted | See the zone page | See the zone page |
| First Idea fixed price for a company, one residence visa and business bank account opening assistance | Written quote | Written quote | Premium, AED 28,136 | Premium, AED 28,436 |
Bank account opening is subject to each bank’s KYC, compliance review and final approval. We prepare the file, pre-check it against the bank’s requirements, and if one bank declines we apply to the next.
Compare Meydan free zone, IFZA free zone, the Dubai free zone license, the Dubai mainland license and mainland vs free zone UAE.
Executive Council Resolution No. (11) of 2025 lets free zone establishments operate in mainland Dubai with a licence or permit from DET, keeping separate financial records for that work (Dubai Legislation Portal, checked 15 September 2026).
DET fee, announced by Dubai Media Office on 8 October 2025, checked 15 September 2026: the Free Zone Mainland Operating Permit is AED 5,000 for six months, renewable for the same fee. It is applied for on the Invest in Dubai platform, needs a Dubai Unified Licence, and covers non-regulated activities such as technology, consultancy, design, professional services and trading. The announcement says related revenue falls within corporate tax and needs separate financial records.
Our help with the permit is quoted. Send your business activity and visa count on WhatsApp and you get an itemised written quote.
Choose DMCC if you trade commodities, precious metals or another sector DMCC is built around, you want a JLT address or a place in DMCC’s Crypto, Gaming or AI Centre, or your counterparties ask for a DMCC company.
Choose a cheaper free zone if you run consulting, e-commerce or a one-person service business with no need for JLT, or you want a fixed price for a company, one residence visa and business bank account opening assistance. Start with Meydan free zone, IFZA free zone and the cheapest free zone license in UAE.
DMCC stands for Dubai Multi Commodities Centre, a Dubai government free zone authority set up in 2002 and based in Jumeirah Lake Towers (JLT). A DMCC company is a company licensed by it and regulated by the DMCC Authority, not by DET.
DMCC is a free zone, not mainland, regulated by the DMCC Authority rather than DET. A DMCC company works with free zone and international clients. It reaches mainland Dubai clients through a DET permit or a DET licence, as set out above.
DMCC’s published Basic Biz package is AED 35,484, its licence fee AED 20,285 a year and its registration fee AED 9,020 (dmcc.ae, checked 15 September 2026). First Idea’s fee, the residence visa and bank account opening assistance come as a quote. Send your business activity and visa count on WhatsApp and you get an itemised written quote.
DMCC states registration takes around 10 working days once documents are complete. Its application guide gives 5 to 7 working days for pre-approval, then 2 to 3 for registration and 2 to 3 for licensing, and pre-approvals are valid for 60 days. Visas and banking add time after the licence.
DMCC’s application checklist asks for a UAE residence visa and Emirates ID only if applicable, so it does not require residence before the licence is issued. Once held, a residence visa is nullified after more than 180 days in a row outside the UAE, subject to the exceptions u.ae lists. A manager’s resignation, removal, death or incapacity must be notified to DMCC within 5 business days (Article 57.12). Amir confirms DMCC’s current position before every file.
Yes, quoted in three parts: the DMCC licence and workspace, one residence visa, and business bank account opening assistance. Bank account opening is subject to each bank’s KYC, compliance review and final approval. We prepare the file, pre-check it against the bank’s requirements, and if one bank declines we apply to the next. The fixed-price route to the same result is Premium: AED 28,136 with Meydan or AED 28,436 with IFZA.
DMCC’s Basic Biz package (AED 35,484, DMCC’s published price, checked 15 September 2026) covers a DMCC licence and flexi desk, not visa and bank work, so it is not like for like. First Idea’s fixed price for a company, one residence visa and business bank account opening assistance is Premium: AED 28,136 with Meydan or AED 28,436 with IFZA. Bank account opening is subject to each bank’s KYC, compliance review and final approval. We prepare the file, pre-check it against the bank’s requirements, and if one bank declines we apply to the next. DMCC still suits commodities, a JLT address or a DMCC ecosystem.
DMCC’s published one-year renewal fee for a trading or service licence is AED 20,265, with late fees of AED 2,500 at 31 to 60 days and AED 5,000 at 61 to 90 days (DMCC schedule of charges, checked 15 September 2026). No professional service fee on licence renewals; government and authority fees still apply. Send your business activity and visa count on WhatsApp and you get an itemised written quote.
Send your business activity and visa count on WhatsApp and you get an itemised written quote.
WhatsApp Amir for DMCC licence options and a written cost breakdown
Call or WhatsApp +971 56 500 6694, or visit First Idea Consultant LLC at Office 812, ParkLane Tower, Park Regis, Business Bay, Dubai.